Gladiators ate a diet that consisted of grains, vegetables and barley. Some gladiators were able to consume meat, but this was a rarity because meat was expensive and hard to keep fresh.Continue Reading
Gladiators had to eat foods high in protein and carbohydrates because of their demanding profession. Their owners fed them a couple of times a day because gladiators were a valuable and sometimes expensive investment. Most gladiators ate a vegetarian diet composed of nutritious foods that would give them the energy they needed to fight.
Modern-day scientists have studied the bones of gladiators in order to gain a better understanding of what type of food they ate. Many scientists have concluded that even though most gladiators subsisted off a vegetarian diet, there were abnormalities in the protein levels of some gladiators. This also indicates that certain gladiators may have had access to more meat or that their owners treated them more favorably.
Scientists also found that gladiators had a higher amount of calcium in their bones in comparison to the rest of the population. This difference was due to a mixture of water and plant ashes gladiators would drink before and after combat sessions to help strengthen their bones.Learn more about Ancient Rome
The gladiators that fought animals, known as bestiarii, fought a variety of vicious mammals, including bears, lions, leopards, panthers and bulls. Contrary to popular belief, the bestiarii were distinct from gladiators. There were two types: those who were criminals or prisoners condemned to death by fighting animals, known as damnatio ad bestias, and those who volunteered to combat animals for pay or glory, known as venatio.Full Answer >
Polish people make cereal grains such as buckwheat, rye, wheat and barley into dumplings, noodles and breads, which are often served alongside soups, meats and boiled or pickled vegetables. Polish food tends to be hearty and often contains eggs and cream. Cabbage, pork, chicken and beef are featured prominently.Full Answer >
Roman gladiators fought in wooden amphitheaters until 80 A.D. when the first stone structure called the "amphitheatrum flavium", or more commonly known as the colosseum, was constructed. The gladiators would fight on the "harena" sand in the center of the colosseum.Full Answer >
People on a gluten-free diet should avoid foods containing certain grains such as wheat, barley, rye and triticale, according to Mayo Clinic. Wheat products may be included on ingredients labels under a variety of names, including spelt, semolina, kamut, durum flour and farina. People with celiac disease should avoid baked goods, pastas, sauces, cereals and soups unless the label specifically indicates that they are gluten-free. Additionally, some vitamins and medications use gluten as a binding agent.Full Answer >