What Is a Substitute for White Miso?

Subsitutes for white miso include yellow miso, red miso or one cube of vegetable bouillon. South River Miso Company and Miso Master make soy-free chickpea miso pastes.

Miso is fermented soybeans combined with salt and cultured grains. White miso is actually pale yellow. It yields a sweet, mild flavor. Cooks use white miso as marinades for fish, and in salad dressings, light soups and even desserts. It is not as salty as other miso and ages for the shortest amount of time. Most miso contains grains, so it is not appropriate for people with celiac or those who choose to be gluten-free. White miso is not safe for people with soy allergies.