Q:

What are the Seventh Day Adventist dietary restrictions?

A:

Quick Answer

Seventh Day Adventists follow a variety of dietary restrictions, but the specific restrictions depend on the individual practitioner. Most Adventists follow kosher food restrictions and avoid alcohol, tobacco and caffeine. Many practitioners also follow an ovo-lacto vegetarian diet, although most communities have a mixture of omnivorous and vegetarian members.

Continue Reading
What are the Seventh Day Adventist dietary restrictions?
Credit: Andre Baranowski StockFood Creative Getty Images

Full Answer

In order to honor the dietary beliefs of their members, Adventist potlucks generally clearly label each dish as to whether it is vegetarian or contains meat products. Vegetarianism is encouraged but not required.

The Adventist beliefs about shellfish and pork trace back to the foods described as "unclean" in Leviticus, and thus mirror the dietary restrictions of the Jewish faith.

Learn more about Christianity

Related Questions

Explore