Q:

What are Jewish people not allowed to eat?

A:

Quick Answer

Some foods that Jews are forbidden to eat include pig products, such as pork, bacon and ham, seafood that has neither fins nor scales, such as lobster, crab or scallops, and anything that flies in swarms, such as insects. The Jewish dietary laws are called kashrut.

Continue Reading
What are Jewish people not allowed to eat?
Credit: Ray Lego Stone Getty Images

Full Answer

The laws of kashrut also forbid Jews from eating meat and dairy products together or in rapid succession. The same utensils and dishes for meat may not be used for dairy, in most cases. Under the same laws, meat is only considered kosher, or acceptable to eat, if the animal was slaughtered in an appropriate method as defined by Jewish law. Some Jews also follow a law that forbids consuming grape-based beverages not produced by Jews.

Learn more about Judaism

Related Questions

Explore