What Are the Ingredients in Mike’s Hard Lemonade?

Joe Fox/Photographer’s Choice RF/Getty Images

Though a specific ingredient list is not listed, Mike’s Hard Lemonade’s website does answer a few questions on some ingredients. As the products are classified as beer, under federal law the beverages do not require ingredient or nutritional labeling as regulated by the Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau. Fresh lemon juice and a patented neutral malt base along with high fructose corn syrup and cane sugar.

The alcohol is made from a fermented malt base as is most traditional beer. Rebiana-A, a sweetener is grown from the stevia plant, is also found in a standard bottle of Mike’s Hard Lemonade as per its website. The site goes on to say that no aspartame or phenylalanine goes into its beverages. Trace levels of sulphites — less than found in a glass of wine — may be found in a Mike’s Hard drink.

The products are considered vegan, and though yeast is used in the fermenting process, a special device called a proprietary multi-stage filtration process removes the yeast from the malt. The multi-filtration process removes gluten from the drinks. Introduced in 1999, Mike’s leads the flavored malt beverage category, the fastest growing style in the alcohol industry. According to a press release from Illinois governor Pat Quinn’s office, Mike’s Hard moved its U.S. headquarters to Chicago.