Q:

What foods are Hindus not allowed to eat?

A:

Quick Answer

Hindus are forbidden to eat most animal-based foods, such as eggs, fish, poultry or beef. Very strict Hindus also keep alcohol, caffeine and other stimulants out of their diets as well.

Know More
What foods are Hindus not allowed to eat?
Credit: Subir Basak Moment Open Getty Images

Full Answer

Animal-based foods are not sanctioned by the religious texts and are not considered fit for human consumption, so a good portion of Hindus are vegetarian. Cows are held as sacred creatures, so the consumption of beef is wholly forbidden and the act of killing a cow at all is seen as a sin. Food is a deep-set part of the Hindu religion, and what is consumed is eaten to honor both the body and the gods. Dietary restrictions are dependant on the area as well, as in certain parts of India Hindus are permitted to eat fish as "fruits of the sea" while in other areas they are not.

More strict practitioners also avoid mushrooms, garlic, onions, alcohol and coffee or tea if it contains caffeine. The avoidance of garlic and onions is said to be because the odor is offensive to Lord Krishna, while mushrooms are seen as being grown in unclean ground. If alcohol is ingested, the practitioner must bathe before attempting to enter the temple as religion and diet are intertwined.

Learn more about Hinduism

Related Questions

  • Q:

    Why don't Hindus eat beef?

    A:

    Hindus don't eat beef because in their religion, cows are seen as the symbol of life. Cows are protected animals in India, and most rural families own a cow that they treat as a member of the family.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are examples of "grow" foods?

    A:

    Some examples of grow foods are meat, poultry, fish, seafood, milk and dairy products, eggs, nuts and beans. Grow foods aid the body in building and repairing body tissues and make muscles stronger. Grow foods form part of a curriculum developed for teaching preschoolers healthy eating and nutrition .

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What foods are restricted for vegans?

    A:

    Vegans avoid eating any animal-derived foods, including meat, fish, poultry, milk, eggs and honey. This includes other foods made from animal-derived products, such as cheese, butter, lard and gelatin. Vegans also often avoid using animal-derived products unrelated to food, such as leather, wool, fur and goose down.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What foods cause high cholesterol?

    A:

    Foods that may contribute to elevated cholesterol levels include trans fats, oil, butter, fatty meats (typically red meat), some fish and poultry, eggs, saturated fats, muffins and processed baked goods. Generally, doctors recommend individuals with high cholesterol avoid foods with high-fat content, regardless of whether fat content comes naturally or from artificial production. Some fats, such as unsaturated fats, produce health benefits, but people with high cholesterol should avoid trans fats and saturated fats as much as possible.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore