The dollar amount that constitutes a felony theft varies by state. In Vermont, for instance, theft of property worth $250 is considered a felony as of 2014. In Wisconsin, however, the value of the property stolen must exceed $2,500 to be classified as a felony.
States usually divide felony theft into different categories, known as classes. Each class corresponds to a range of dollar values of the stolen property. For example, theft of property or services with a value of $25,000 or more is a class 2 felony in some states. Typically, the higher the class of felony theft, the less valuable the items stolen.