Q:

What do I call my niece's daughter?

A:

Quick Answer

The daughter of your niece is also your niece, but in a second degree. If you have any children, then your niece is their cousin in the first degree, or sister cousin. The daughter of your niece is to your children a second cousin, according to a regular consanguinity chart.

Continue Reading
What do I call my niece's daughter?
Credit: Matt Smith CC-BY 2.0

Full Answer

After the first degree of consanguinity, most family relations repeat themselves in different degrees: first cousins, second cousins and third cousins.This is also very common when it comes to parenting, where you can find sons and daughters, grandsons and grand daughters and great-grand sons and great-grand daughters and so on.

Learn more about Cultures & Traditions
Sources:

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What is a mother daughter home?

    A:

    A mother daughter home, officially known as an accessory apartment or an in-law apartment, is a single family home sometimes having extra kitchens and bathrooms that must be rented to blood relations. These homes require special permits with costs that may go up to $250, as of 2015.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the best ointment for burns?

    A:

    The best ointment for first and second degree burns is pure aloe vera or petroleum jelly, according to MedlinePlus. Medicated antibiotic burn creams are not necessary and can cause allergic reactions. The ointment should only be applied to healing, unbroken skin, as claimed by WebMD.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is a Class F felony in North Carolina?

    A:

    According to the state of North Carolina, Class F felonies include: kidnapping children, involuntary manslaughter, human trafficking of adults, rebellion against the state, second degree sexual exploitation of a child, indecent liberties with a child, the prostituting of a minor, and assault on an executive, legislative or court officer. Class F felonies carry a penalty of 10 to 49 months in jail, according to Chowan County.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are the different degrees of assault?

    A:

    According to criminal defense attorney Bobby G. Frederick, assault and battery charges are divided into three separate categories: third degree, second degree and first degree. The difference in all three is the degree to which one person invades the personal space, or injures, another person. Third degree is mild in nature, second degree is moderate and first is the most serious.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore