Tenants without leases continue to have rights when renting a property, including the right to occupy the home. State and local laws govern the rights of tenants without leases, so tenants must consult the statutes where they live.
Although the landlord owns the home, in Massachusetts, he must give notice before entering the property and schedule a convenient time to do so when possible, according to MassLegalHelp. In Florida, tenants without leases must give 15 days notice to end a month-to-month lease, according to the Florida State Bar. However, in New York City, the Rent Guidelines Board indicates that either party has the right to end a lease with 30 days of notice. If the tenant receives federally funded rental assistance, he has additional rights due to federal regulations.