Q:

Do vegans eat eggs?

A:

Quick Answer

By definition, vegans refrain from using or consuming any animal products in their diet and daily life, which includes eggs. Vegans generally also eschew the consumption of other animal products such as milk, honey and gelatin.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

In addition to dietary restrictions, vegans object to the commodification of animals for the exploitation of humans, and they protest the use of animals in entertainment and clothing products such as leather and silk.

The term "vegan" was coined in 1944 by British animal rights activist Donald Watson. He, his wife Dorothy and four friends started the Vegan Society the same year to protest the unethical treatment of animals used to produce items for humans. The American Vegan Society was founded eight years later as an outreach of the original group.

Learn more about Cultures & Traditions

Related Questions

Explore