What Time Do Stores Start Selling Beer in Texas?
Stores in the state of Texas can begin selling beer, wine, and liquor at 7 a.m. Monday through Saturday. On Sundays, the stores must wait until noon. These regulations apply to retail establishments, including convenience stores and grocery stores. The same hours of sales apply to on-premise retail locations, including restaurants, bars, and nightclubs. The laws are different for other types of businesses that provide alcohol sales.
Liquor stores must wait until 10 a.m. Monday through Saturday to sell alcohol, including beer and other alcoholic beverages. These types of retail businesses are not permitted to operate on Sundays. Breweries and wineries that allow on-site consumption can begin selling alcoholic beverages at 8 a.m. Monday through Saturday. They must wait until 10 a.m. on Sundays to begin their sales. The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC) oversees all laws and regulations concerning alcohol and liquor sales throughout the state.
The TABC does allow for the sales of beer, wine, and alcoholic beverages at fairs, festivals, concerts, and certain sporting venues. The sales of these products are allowed beginning at 10 a.m. Monday through Saturday and noon on Sundays. These venues must provide a seating area for consumption to be covered by the legal regulations and standards. No alcoholic beverage sales are allowed at public or parochial school venues intended for the education of prekindergarten to grade 12 students.
The issue of underage drinking is taken very seriously in Texas. The legal age to consume alcoholic beverages, including beer, wine, and liquor in the state is 21 years old. The only exception to this law is that someone who is 18 years old may sip a beverage containing alcohol as long as it is done in the presence of an adult who is responsible for their care.
According to state laws, any retailer that sells or dispenses alcohol is responsible for ensuring the individual consuming or purchasing the product is of legal age. Many of these businesses have adopted policies that ask for proper identification regardless of the individual’s age. Failure to comply with this law could have the businesses facing hefty fines and loss of their liquor licenses indefinitely. When in groups, it is acceptable for a business to require all members of the group to show proper identification before selling the alcoholic beverage to the purchaser. It is up to the discretion of the seller to make the sale.
Stores and retail establishments that sell alcoholic beverages, including beer, wine, liquor, and mixed drinks are under strict guidelines during the holidays. These businesses are not allowed to sell any type of alcoholic beverage on Christmas Day, Thanksgiving, or New Year’s Day unless other provisions are in place. When these holidays fall on a Sunday, the sale of the products is forbidden on the following Monday until after midnight as well.
Stores and other retail establishments, including bars, restaurants, and country clubs are allowed to sell liquor, wine, and beer until midnight Sunday through Friday. The sales must end at 1 a.m. on Sunday for close by day on Saturday. There are extended hours provisions that are allowed by the state of Texas. These provisions give certain businesses meeting guidelines the ability to sell beer, wine, and liquor products later than mandated. Some of the regulations include:
- Being an area with a population of 800,000 as recorded by the latest federal census or 500,000 in accordance with 22nd Decennial Census.
- Securing an extended hours permit through the state of Texas for an additional fee for the business.
- Maintaining a business within compliance in accordance with all laws and regulations for a period of no less than five years.
With an extended hours permit in place and when meeting all standards, a business can sell alcoholic products, including liquor, beer, and wine until 2 a.m. Monday through Saturday, and until midnight on Sundays.