Q:

What are Jews not allowed to eat?

A:

Quick Answer

According to the Torah, Jews are not allowed to eat any animal without cloven hooves, including products from shellfish or insects. They are also prohibited from eating or preparing meat and dairy together. Furthermore, after eating one of these food types, observant Jews must wait at least one hour before eating the other.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Permitted food for Jews is referred to as Kosher. Kosher animals are cows, sheep, goats and poultry. However, in order to fully qualify for Kosher certification, these animals must be slaughtered according to Jewish law. This involves near-immediate death and the removal of fat, blood and veins.

Fruits, vegetables and other plant-based foods are generally permitted for consumption, but care must be taken to inspect them for insects.

Learn more about Religion

Related Questions

Explore