Do Jewish people eat pork?


Quick Answer

Observant Jews are forbidden to eat pork. Jewish dietary laws, known as kashrut, dictate what can and cannot be eaten, and the specific ways in which foods must be prepared.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Leviticus 11:3 says that Jews may eat only those land animals which chew the cud and have cloven hooves. If an animal fails to meet both criteria, such as the pig which has cloven hooves but does not chew cud, then it is considered unclean and cannot be eaten. Animals that meet both criteria, such as cattle, are considered kosher and fit to be eaten. All kosher animals must be ritually slaughtered by a trained butcher called a schochet.

Learn more about Judaism

Related Questions