Can Minors Drink With Their Parents in Texas?
In Texas, a minor may drink alcohol when in the presence of his parents or guardian, according to the Alcohol Policy Information System. Such consumption may take place either on private, non-alcohol selling premises or on premises that sell alcohol, as explained by ProCon.
Although it is legal for minors in Texas to consume alcohol with the consent of a parent, minors may not drive or otherwise operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, according to the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission. Minors caught operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated may receive a fine, suspension of driver’s license, mandatory completion of alcohol education classes and community service requirements. The degree of punishment varies based on whether the charge is a first, second or third offence. Adults other than a minor’s parent or guardian may not provide consent for a minor to consume alcohol. An adult who does provide alcohol to a minor for whom he is not the parent or legal guardian faces a maximum fine of $4,000, one year in jail, a 180 day suspension of his driver’s license, or some combination thereof. Regardless of parental permission, a minor may not purchase alcohol unless under supervision from a peace officer, as explained by the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission.