A vegetarian is a person who does not eat flesh taken from a once-living creature. A vegan is a type of vegetarian who does not consume any animal products. More »

According to Princeton University, a lacto-ovo vegetarian is a person who doesn't consume animal flesh of any kind but does consume eggs and dairy products. In Western cultures, this is the most common form of vegetarian... More »

www.reference.com Health Nutrition & Diets

Red 40, a dye commonly used in processed foods, is a vegan-friendly ingredient. However, while it does not include any animal products, it is tested on animals. More »

To become a vegan, avoid all animal products when cooking, use vegan substitutes, and supplement your diet if necessary. Educate yourself about living a vegan lifestyle, and determine the extent to which you plan to avoi... More »

www.reference.com Health Nutrition & Diets

The daily menu for a healthy vegan normally includes nuts, legumes, whole grains, fruits, vegetables and leafy greens, according to the Vegetarian Resource Group. A vegan might have oatmeal with fruit for breakfast, lent... More »

www.reference.com Health Nutrition & Diets

People can follow vegan diets by not eating meat, fish, poultry or other animal products such as eggs, dairy and honey. In order to maintain their health, vegans must eat a variety of products that are nutritionally soun... More »

www.reference.com Health Nutrition & Diets

In addition to abstaining from meat, such as beef, poultry and seafood, vegans also do not consume or utilize any animal products, including dairy, eggs, leather, honey, fur, wool and products created with animal by-prod... More »

www.reference.com Health Nutrition & Diets