Every state has laws specifically dealing with child labor issues. When federal and state standards are different, the rules that provide the most protection to youth workers will apply. Employers must comply with both federal law and applicable state laws. Federal child labor rules are established by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) FLSA rules affect full- and part-time workers in the ...
In general, state laws don't supersede federal labor laws. Article 6, Paragraph 2 of the U.S. Constitution states that the laws of the United States -- federal laws -- are the supreme law of the ...
What is the Difference Between State vs. Federal Laws for Employment Disputes? Federal employment laws usually state a minimum threshold requirement for employee rights and workplace disputes.. State laws must abide by these federal guidelines, and many states usually adopt some form of an existing federal statute.
State Labor Offices; State Minimum Wage Laws. Minimum Wage Laws in the States; Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees; State Child Labor Laws. Employment/Age Certification; Non-farm Employment; Agricultural Employment; Entertainment; Door-to-Door Sales; Other State Labor Laws. Minimum Paid Rest Periods; Minimum Meal Periods; Prevailing Wages ...
General Provisions of the Law; New York State Child Labor Law. Federal Child Labor Law. Revocation of Employment Certificate (Working Papers) Employment Certificate (Working papers) may be revoked by education authorities where a student has failed no less than 4 academic courses in one semester.
Many state laws have more protections for nursing mothers than federal law requires. State labor offices enforce these laws. Filing a Lawsuit. If you're a victim of job discrimination or harassment, you can file a lawsuit. If the discrimination violates federal law, you must first file a charge with the EEOC.
Non-exempt Employees. For non-exempt employees, the Fair Labor Standards Act sets minimum wage rates and overtime requirements. Currently, the standard federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. (To see state minimum wage rates click here).Employees under the age of 20 may be paid not less than $4.25 per hour for the first ninety (90) consecutive calendar days of employment.
However, if a state law affords a person more rights than federal law, the state law is legally presumed to prevail, albeit only within that state. At the same time, if a state imposes more responsibility on its residents than the federal law, the state law prevails. If the state and federal laws are in explicit conflict, the federal law prevails.
Under federal law, employers must pay nonexempt workers time and a half for all hours worked beyond 40 in a workweek. That may seem straightforward, but differences in state laws make overtime ...
State and Federal Laws; You can search California laws on the Internet at California Law. View a checklist of significant California consumer laws at California Department of Consumer Affairs. Search Consumer Webpages. Search Search. Report a Complaint.