Vegans eat an entirely plant-based diet, avoiding all animal products, including meat, dairy and eggs. The Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine recommends that vegans eat from four food groups: fruit, legumes, grains and vegetables.
To become a vegan, avoid all animal products when cooking, use vegan substitutes, and supplement your diet if necessary. Educate yourself about living a vegan lifestyle, and determine the extent to which you plan to avoid using animal products for any purpose.
There are two approaches to veganism: dietary veganism, in which a person does not eat animal-derived products but may, for example, wear animal leather, and ethical veganism, in which a person eschews all forms of animal products. Both dietary and ethical vegans can be...
The vegan lifestyle eschews the use of all animal products. A vegan diet is one that is entirely plant-based.
Vegan sugar does not contain animal ingredients. Commercially produced cane sugar is processed with bone char; this form of charcoal is produced from animal bones and is used as a purification filter for the sugar. Sugar processed with bone char is not vegan.
Vegans do not eat any foods made from animals or foods connected to animals. This means they avoid all meats, poultry, fish, shellfish, eggs, cheese, milk and yogurt. Animal-derived products like gelatin are also off the menu. Some vegans include honey on the banned lis...
VegWeb is a popular resource with an immense database of professional and user-submitted recipes. Users can search the database or browse the recipes by category. There are countless recipes to fit every occasion for every skill level.