Felonies of the Third Degree. Felonies of the third degree are the least serious types of felonies in Florida, punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. If lawmakers fail to designate the punishment for or degree of a felony, then the crime is punishable as a third degree felony. (Fla. Stat. § § 775.081, 775.082 ...
In Florida, a third-degree felony is the least serious felony-related charge within the state and often comes with a maximum punishment of up to 5 years in prison. This degree felony is one of the most frequently committed offenses in the state, and often, first-time offenders are charged with third-degree felonies.
A third-degree felony can also be the default punishment for any felony that has not been designated a felony or a punishment. There is a range of criminal acts that fall under the category of a third-degree felony in Florida. Some third-degree felonies include: – Possession of drugs such as cocaine, oxycodone or a 20-gram surplus of marijuana
Criminal Penalties in Florida. Florida classifies crimes as either a Misdemeanor Offense or a Felony Offense.. The potential criminal penalties increase based on the severity of the crime or the frequency that a person is convicted of a specific crime.
Florida’s felonies are classified as capital, life, first-degree, second-degree and third-degree felonies. Under Florida Statute, Sections 775.082 and 775.083, a capital felony is the most serious crime in the state of Florida, and is punishable by the death penalty. An example of a capital felony is first-degree murder. A conviction for a ...
Florida Felony Penalties and Offenses. Under Florida law all crimes are divided into two categories: felonies and misdemeanors. Felonies are more serious crimes, punishable by state prison, county jail, house arrest or felony probation. Felonies are classified as third-degree, second-degree, first-degree, life felonies or capital felonies.
Felony Crimes in Florida ... Depending on the degree of the felony you are charged with, the possible penalties are as follows: Third Degree Felony A third degree felony is punishable by up to five years in prison, five years probation, and a $5,000 fine. Second Degree Felony
3rd degree felonies are some of the most common felony offenses committed in Florida. In my experience as a South Florida criminal defense attorney, I find that most of my first-time offender clients find themselves charged with 3rd degree felonies.
For example, a state prosecutor may bring a third degree felony charge for marijuana possession with intent to sell. In contrast, possession of cocaine with intent to sell may be charged as a second degree felony. Florida Drug Possession Laws at a Glance. Additional details about Florida's drug possession laws are listed below.
(10) If a defendant is sentenced for an offense committed on or after July 1, 2009, which is a third degree felony but not a forcible felony as defined in s. 776.08, and excluding any third degree felony violation under chapter 810, and if the total sentence points pursuant to s.