Subd. 2a. Penalties. (a) A person who is convicted of issuing a dishonored check under subdivision 2 may be sentenced as follows: (1) to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both, if the value of the dishonored check, or checks aggregated under paragraph (b), is more than $500;
(3) a statement as to whether the aggregated value of dishonored checks attributable to the drawer within six months before or after the date of the dishonored check exceeds $250; for purposes of this clause, a check is not dishonored if payment was not made pursuant to a stop payment order.
Statute 609.535. Attached hereto is a copy of MN State Statute 609.535. Additionally, notice that a service charge of $30 would be imposed for issuance of a dishonored check plus additional civil penalties for nonpayment after thirty (30) days pursuant to MN State Statute 604.113 was conspicuously displayed on the premises when the check was ...
Terms Used In Minnesota Statutes 609.535. Month: means a calendar month and "year" means a calendar year, ... a statement as to whether the aggregated value of dishonored checks attributable to the drawer within six months before or after the date of the dishonored check exceeds $250; for purposes of this clause, a check is not dishonored if ...
Proof of Intent. One of the unique aspects of dishonored check issuance is that the state needs to show proof of intent of the issuer to write the check without the funds to pay for their purchase or that upon notice of nonpayment, the issuer failed to pay within five days of notice.
The City Attorney’s Office is not to be used as a collection agency to substitute for civil remedies to obtain restitution on dishonored checks, however it is the policy of the City Attorney’s Office to assist victims in the prosecution of dishonored checks, where a criminal violation of Minnesota Statute Section 609.535 has occurred.
issuing a dishonored check, which is a crime under Minnesota Law (Minnesota Statute 609.535). a. If you receive an NSF check or a stop payment on a check, you can complain to the county attorney who may or mat not choose to prosecute. b. The criminal penalties for issuing a bad check do not apply to post-dated checks. c.
www.co.mahnomen.mn.us/attorney/NOTICE AND DEMAND FOR PAYMENT OF A DISHONORED CHECK.pdf
DEMAND is hereby made for the payment of the above-mentioned dishonored check. Pursuant to Minnesota Statute Section 609.535 and Minnesota Statute Section 604.113 you have five (5) business days from the date this notice was mailed to you to tender payment in the full amount to the holder of the check.
The relevant statues at issue in this case are the dishonored-check statute and the theft-by-check statute. Issuing a dishonored check is a lesser-included offense of theft by check. State v. Roden, 384 N.W.2d 456, 457 (Minn. 1986) (“The greater offense of theft
Appellant was charged with the issuance of a dishonored check in violation of the dishonored-check statute when her check for past-due property taxes was returned by her bank for insufficient funds. The district court dismissed the criminal complaint, concluding that Appellant’s check for past-due property taxes met the statutory exception for “a check given for a past consideration ...