A misdemeanor is an offense that can be punished by a fine or up to one year in county jail. This post covers common punishment ranges for misdemeanors in Texas and the collateral consequences of a misdemeanor.
Home » Class A Misdemeanor Range of Punishment – Texas Penal Code Class A Misdemeanor Range of Punishment – Texas Penal Code. By Jamie Spencer on October 1, 2006. Posted in Texas Penal Code § 12.21. CLASS A MISDEMEANOR. An individual adjudged guilty of a Class A misdemeanor shall be punished by:
Class A Misdemeanors. In Texas, a Class A Misdemeanor is the worst type of misdemeanor and can involve punishment of up to a year in county jail and/or a fine of up to $4,000, or up to two years of community supervision (probation) or three years with an extension. Deferred adjudication (see above) is also an option.
Within the misdemeanor and felony category you have different classifications such as Class A,B,C or 1st,2nd, 3rd degree felony. Don’t worry we will get into this later. The core concept is to understand that they directly affect your punishment range and the financial penalty that may be imposed on you. Classifications of misdemeanors?
If you find yourself charged with a misdemeanor offense there are several possible punishment ranges. In Texas, there are three possible classes of misdemeanors. There are Class A Misdemeanors, Class B Misdemeanors, and Class C Misdemeanors. This post will focus on Class A and Class B Misdemeano
A class B misdemeanor is a classification of a crime that is considered to be less serious than a felony, and in the mid-range of offenses charged as misdemeanors. The punishment for a class B ...
For more information on penalties for crimes involving marijuana, see Texas Marijuana Laws. Class C Misdemeanor. Class C misdemeanors in Texas are punishable by a fine of up to $500. There is no jail time for a class C misdemeanor. Any misdemeanor that is not designated as Class A, B, or C, and has no specified punishment is a class C misdemeanor.
You are currently viewing a legacy feature of the Texas Politics Project website. Please visit the expanded Texas Politics Project website to learn more about our updated webtext and to find additional educational resources.Texas Politics Project website to learn more about our updated webtext and to find additional educational resources.
Some common situations that arise in determining the range of punishment for Texas crimes are enhancements like the habitual felony offender or the repeat felony offender. An offense that is defined as one classification can be kicked up into a higher classification of penalty range by virtue of the criminal history of the defendant.
For example, assault may be defined as a class A misdemeanor in a particular state; and in that state, class A misdemeanors are punished by a jail term of up to one year and a fine of up to $5,000. As you can see, to learn the sentence for any particular offense, you need to know its class and the punishment amount or range for that class.