The sentencing and punishment for robbery in California can be severe and potentially life changing. If you or someone you know has been accused of robbery, you need to contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer who will carefully review the facts and the law to give you the best representation possible.
California robbery under Penal Code 211 PC carries felony penalties. The precise consequences of a robbery conviction depend on whether you commit robbery of the first degree or of the second degree. 3. A California robbery is considered robbery of the first degree if it is a
ARMED ROBBERY. We assume that “armed robbery” refers to robbery in the first degree when armed with a deadly weapon, categorized under CGS § 53a-134(a)(2) and 53a-134(b) as a class B felony with the added provision that an offender must be sentenced to at least five years imprisonment, which may not be suspended or reduced by the court.
In California, second degree armed robbery can carry a penalty of two to five years in prison. The crime also counts as a strike under the state's three strikes law. First Degree Robbery. A robbery charge is elevated to first degree robbery when the victim or someone else not involved in the crime is seriously injured.
California robbery law requires the use of at least some force in order to distinguish robbery from larceny. While use of a weapon may seem most straightforward, other means of intimidation may also qualify. At the time of the robbery, the victim feared an unlawful injury to himself or herself or others or to the property involved.
Overview of California's Robbery Laws: PC 211. Robbery is the taking of property from another person's possession or immediate presence against their will by means of force or fear. This force may involve a deadly weapon (armed robbery), or it may just involve simple physical force (strong arm robbery).
What is the maximum prison term for armed robbery in California i need to know the maximum prison sentence for armed robbery in California. Skip to main content. Lawyer directory. Find a lawyer near you. Avvo has 97% of all lawyers in the US. Find the best ones near you. First, choose your state: ...
Robbery Sentencing and Penalties: Statutory Guidance. ... California, for example, sets the prison penalties for second degree robbery at two, three, or five years. Judges can select which of those punishments the defendant will receive based on the facts of the case.
California. The maximum sentence for robbery in California is 9 years, according to Penal Code section 213(a)(1)(A). The threat or use of force does not have to take place immediately before or at the time of the theft. Force used after the theft will turn the theft into a robbery unless the theft is complete.
Best Answer: I’m not sure I completely agree with schlomo. I'd welcome any correction, but this is how I analyze it. Second degree robbery (meaning it did not happen in a residence or upon public transportation) carries a sentence of 2, 3, or 5 years. (Penal Code secs. 211.5, 213.) Being armed with a ...