In California, creditors can garnish up to 25 percent of an individual's disposable income or an individual's wages that are greater than 40 times the minimum wage, whichever is less, advises Nolo. As of 2014, California... More »

www.reference.com Government & Politics Law

The laws for garnishing wages are state-regulated. A creditor seeking to garnish wages must file a lawsuit in the local court system to obtain a judgment against the debtor. If the judgment is granted, the creditor must ... More »

www.reference.com Government & Politics Law Debt Law

Title III of the Consumer Credit Protection Act, or CCPA, protects an employee from termination for a wage garnishment order to repay one debt, according to the U.S. Department of Labor. The CCPA also limits the amount o... More »

www.reference.com Government & Politics Law Debt Law

Collecting on a small claims judgment is accomplished by the debtor voluntarily paying up, wage garnishment and attachment of assets, such as real estate and motor vehicles, according to Nolo. In some cases, collection i... More »

www.reference.com Government & Politics Law

File a claim of exemption for wage garnishment in California by filling out a financial statement, or Form WG-007, and a claim of exemption, or Form WG-006, says the Judicial Council of California. Instructions are outli... More »

www.reference.com Business & Finance Taxes

Effective July 1, 2014, the minimum wage in California became $9 per hour, according to the California Department of Industrial Relations. The minimum wage increases to $10 per hour effective Jan. 1, 2016. More »

www.reference.com Government & Politics Law

Some of the unique labor laws in California include the minimum wage for the state, as well as the laws regarding how overtime is paid. According to law firm Fox Rothschild, California has a minimum wage that is one of t... More »

www.reference.com Government & Politics Law