articles

In the state of Florida, the statute of limitations for a bad check written for merchandise or services varies depending upon the value of the check. If the check was for less than $150, there is a two-year cut-off from ... More »

www.reference.com Government & Politics Law

Writing a bad check brings a variety of penalties that vary by state, and the circumstances determine whether the penalty is civil or criminal, explains FreeAdvice.com. In New York State, a penalty for a bad check can br... More »

www.reference.com Government & Politics Crime

One can be arrested for writing a bad check and prosecuted criminally. State laws address the civil and criminal penalties for writing bad checks. A civil penalty addresses how much the recipient of the bad check is allo... More »

www.reference.com Business & Finance Personal Banking
similar articles

The state of Florida does not recognize legal separation, according to LegalZoom. In many states, legal separation is an option available to couples who do not wish to stay together but still want to have the benefits of... More »

www.reference.com Government & Politics Law

U.S. citizens who spend more than six months every year in the state of Florida may apply for residency on family or employment grounds, says Varnum Attorneys. To do so, applicants need to file a File a Declaration of Do... More »

www.reference.com Government & Politics Law

As of February 2015, a property owner in the state of Florida may be eligible to receive a homestead exemption of up to $50,000, according to the Florida Department of Revenue. The property owner must provide proof of re... More »

www.reference.com Government & Politics Law

The state of Florida has extensive rules covering the consumption of alcohol; driving under the influence; the sale and purchase of alcohol; and other various regulations on the topic, according to Renee Chapple for Abou... More »

www.reference.com Government & Politics Law