Web Results

www.reference.com/article/become-vegan-976388bb34f4cc4d

To become a vegan, avoid all animal products when cooking, use vegan substitutes, and supplement your diet if necessary. Educate yourself about living a vegan lifestyle, and determine the extent to which you plan to avoid using animal products for any purpose.

www.reference.com/article/different-types-veganism-1e0258a89948fdaa

There are two approaches to veganism: dietary veganism, in which a person does not eat animal-derived products but may, for example, wear animal leather, and ethical veganism, in which a person eschews all forms of animal products. Both dietary and ethical vegans can be considered strict vegetarians

www.reference.com/article/examples-vegan-food-9d9ec9d5ff3ceba5

Tofu, peanut butter, brown rice, chickpeas and soy milk are some examples of vegan food. Vegan food is defined as any food that does not contain animal products. Vegan foods are free from dairy, eggs and meat.

www.reference.com/article/vegans-eat-df591d2895fa9770

Vegans eat an entirely plant-based diet, avoiding all animal products, including meat, dairy and eggs. The Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine recommends that vegans eat from four food groups: fruit, legumes, grains and vegetables.

www.reference.com/article/red-40-vegan-679347efb078319

Red 40, a dye commonly used in processed foods, is a vegan-friendly ingredient. However, while it does not include any animal products, it is tested on animals.

www.reference.com/article/should-eat-asparagus-raw-vegan-1952149700b08d59

Raw asparagus can be served in salads and soups. Shaving raw asparagus and tossing it with olive oil, lemon juice, Parmesan, and salt and pepper to taste is a great way to eat raw asparagus.

www.reference.com/article/vegan-diet-5d1c0cab8384bdf1

The vegan lifestyle eschews the use of all animal products. A vegan diet is one that is entirely plant-based.

www.reference.com/article/vegan-sugar-1ef7659906b4a9f5

Vegan sugar does not contain animal ingredients. Commercially produced cane sugar is processed with bone char; this form of charcoal is produced from animal bones and is used as a purification filter for the sugar. Sugar processed with bone char is not vegan.

www.reference.com/article/vegans-protein-e294592889cdacd4

Good vegan protein sources include legumes, nuts, seeds, vegetables and grains. A well-balanced and varied diet can easily meet the daily protein recommended minimums of 46 grams for women and 56 grams for men.

www.reference.com/article/vegans-allowed-eat-286b6181aab5ec48

Vegans do not eat any foods made from animals or foods connected to animals. This means they avoid all meats, poultry, fish, shellfish, eggs, cheese, milk and yogurt. Animal-derived products like gelatin are also off the menu. Some vegans include honey on the banned list.