Each day, we go to work on behalf of Texas children and families. Whether you are a mom, a dad, a grandparent or a guardian—we are here to help. Committed to Excellence Each year, we collect more child support than any state in the U.S.—but our work won’t be done until every child receives the support they need and deserve.
However, Texas child support guidelines have a cap on the amount of monthly income on which a parent must pay child support. Every six years the Texas legislature adjusts the cap for inflation. On September 1, 2013, the maximum amount of monthly net resources from which child support can be calculated rose from $7500 per month to $8550 per month.
Sources. You can read the law on child support in the Texas Family Code Chapter 154.The guidelines are also in the Texas Family Code Sections 154.125 through 129.To enforce a child support order, visit the Texas Attorney General's Office website, which also has resources to help you find your nearest child support office.
You can try it here: Travis County Child Support Calculator. How long must the paying parent pay child support? A noncustodial parent is required to pay child support until the child reaches the age of 18; the court can order support to continue until a child graduates from high school if the child is enrolled and regularly attending.
In Texas, the monthly net income figure that is used to determine monthly child support payments has a presumed cap. The maximum amount of net income from which child support can be calculated is $8550 per month. If the paying party’s net income is more than $8,550 per month, the amount of child support is based only on the first $8,550.
the texas oag child support website will be unavailable due to maintenance on sunday, 5/19/2019, from 6:00 pm until monday, 5/20/2019 at 2:00 am. Here, you can access all of your child support account information, forms, and services provided by the Texas Office of the Attorney General, Child Support Division.
Child support (including medical support) usually lasts until the child turns 18 or graduates from high school, whichever occurs later. If the child is disabled, child support can continue for as long as it is needed. If you owe “back” child support or medical support, you must continue to pay until the debt is paid in full.
(a) A child support order for more than one child shall provide that, on the termination of support for a child, the level of support for the remaining child or children is in accordance with the child support guidelines. (b) A child support order is in compliance with the requirement imposed by Subsection (a) if the order contains a provision ...
To use the child support calculator, select or enter the appropriate information next to each statement. When you have completed the form, click on the calculate button to get an estimate of the amount of child support that the non-custodial parent will have to pay to the custodial parent in Texas.
You may have questions about how child support payments and orders can be modified. Here's some information that can help. You're always welcome to change the way you make your child support payments, but the court-ordered amount can change only through a court order. Even if you are having trouble making your full payment, it is important to pay as much as you can toward your obligation e...