articles

HowStuffWorks states that a gluten allergy is not really an allergy, but intolerance to gluten, a complex protein found in wheat, rye, oats, and barley. The most recognizable indication of gluten intolerance is manifesta... More »

www.reference.com Health Conditions & Diseases Allergies

As of October 2015, experts state that there are no recommended testing methods for diagnosing non-celiac gluten sensitivity, according to the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness. Although stool, saliva and blood te... More »

www.reference.com Health Diagnostics & Imaging

According to the Food Allergy Research and Education Foundation a wheat allergy is not the same as gluten intolerance, Celiac disease, or a gluten allergy. Wheat allergies may be outgrown whereas celiac disease is always... More »

www.reference.com Health Conditions & Diseases Allergies
similar articles

In its pure form, oatmeal can be part of a gluten-free diet, but most commercial oatmeal manufacturers also process their oats with wheat, barley and rye, making such products unsafe for gluten-free diets. Bob's Red Mill... More »

www.reference.com Health Nutrition & Diets

Gluten is found in wheat, rye, barley, some processed oats and any food made with these grains. Wheat-based flours, pasta, couscous, bread, flour tortillas, muffins, cereal, crackers, beer, oats and most pastries commonl... More »

www.reference.com Food Food Facts

Grains and grain products, particularly wheat, barley and rye, contain high amounts of gluten, which exists in grains as a protein. Some grains, such as corn, millet and sorghum, do not contain gluten, but it can be foun... More »

www.reference.com Health Nutrition & Diets Nutritional Content

Gluten is a natural protein found in wheat, rye, barley, oats and triticale. It acts as a kind of glue, helping foods hold together and maintain their shape. Eaten on its own, gluten has a chalky taste, comparable to cor... More »

www.reference.com Food Cooking