(Nevada has no laws addressing body art; Maryland has very limited laws). At least 45 states have laws prohibiting minors from getting tattoos. Thirty-eight states have laws that prohibit both body piercing and tattooing on minors without parental permission. State Laws on Tattooing and Body Piercing
In the United States, there is no federal law regulating the practice of tattooing.However, all 50 states and the District of Columbia have statutory laws requiring a person receiving a tattoo to be 18 years old. This is partially based on the legal principle that a minor cannot enter into a legal contract or otherwise render informed consent for a procedure.
California Tattoo Laws CALIFORNIA HEALTH AND SAFETY CODE DIVISION 104. ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH PART 15. MISCELLANEOUS REQUIREMENTS Chapter 7. Tattooing, Body Piercing, and Permanent Cosmetics
California Tattoos is the World's Largest and Most Trusted Manufacturer of Custom Temporary Tattoos and Novelty Printed Products. Every product we offer is printed in Tucson, Arizona. California Tattoos has been manufacturing in the United States for 26 years, so we are the industry experts! We are a world class manufacturer of unique art and activity products, scratch & win cards, booklet...
While California tattoo laws prohibit minors under the age of 18 from getting a tattoo even with their parents' permission, body piercings are allowed as long as the juvenile's parents consent and are present during the piercing. That being said, nipple and genital piercings are against the law for all minors, even with parental consent.
California Conference of Local Health Officers California Department of Health External. Covers: Tattooing, body piercing, permanent cosmetics. Regulation(s): Tattoo, Piercing, and Permanent Cosmetics Safety. California Tattoo, Body Piercing, and Permanent Cosmetics Standards External. Safe Body Art Act External
This action is prohibited under California Penal Code Section 653 PC. To prove that a defendant is guilty of tattooing a minor, a prosecutor must be able to establish that the defendant tattooed or offered to tattoo a person under the age of 18 years.
At least 45 states have laws restricting minors from getting tattoos, while at least 38 states have laws restricting both body piercing and tattooing of minors. Seventeen states prohibit tattooing of minors regardless of parental consent, while three states do so for body piercing. These laws can be classified in the following ways:
Tattoo artists and other body art practitioners in California are regulated by the state's Safe Body Art Act. This state law was enacted in 2012 to protect both clients and practitioners in the body art industry from the transmission of infectious diseases through the use of needles.
The state of California requires all tattoo artists to register with their local public health enforcement agency. At the time of registration, the artist must provide proof of age, Hepatitis B vaccination or exemption forms and documentation showing that the person has completed the required bloodborne pathogen training.