articles

The processed protein known as gelatin is made from animal bones, skin, tendons and ligaments. Kosher gelatin is made from fish bones. Agar agar is derived from seaweed and is occasionally marketed as vegetarian gelatin. More »

www.reference.com Food Food Facts

Many different types of foods contain gelatin, including peanuts, marshmallows, Jell-O, yogurt, gummy candies and some sour cream brands, among other foods. The best way to determine if a food contains gelatin is to read... More »

www.reference.com Food Food Facts

Knox gelatin is a colorless and translucent hard gel like substance found in food products that is made from collagen, which is extracted from different kinds of animal by-products. It is most commonly used as a gelling ... More »

www.reference.com Food Cooking Desserts
similar articles

As one of many antioxidants, vitamin C reduces free radicals, the damaging chemicals responsible for aging, while it also has a primary role in building and repairing tissues, such as skin, blood vessels, tendons and lig... More »

www.reference.com Health Medications & Vitamins

A fourth-degree burn is one that burns through all the layers of the skin, all the way down to the muscle, tendons and ligaments. Depending on how much skin is affected by the burn, a fourth-degree burn can be fatal. More »

www.reference.com Health Conditions & Diseases Wounds & Bruises

Agar is used as an alternative to gelatin primarily to accommodate dietary restrictions such as vegetarianism or veganism; because gelatin is derived from bones and other animal-derived products, it is not a suitable ing... More »

www.reference.com Food Food Facts

A box of Jell-O contains sugar, gelatin, adipic acid, natural and artificial flavorings, disodium phosphate, sodium citrate, fumaric acid and food dye. Dye colors and flavoring agents vary depending on the flavor, such a... More »

www.reference.com Food Food Facts