First degree burglary is defined as forcibly breaking and entering into someone's home, while persons are in the home, with the sole intent of committing a crime, as stated by attorney Adam R. Banner. The offender forcibly gains entry by breaking a door, window, wall, locks or bolts.
Second degree burglary is a criminal charge often considered a lesser charge than first degree burglary. However, the exact requirements and sentences for second degree burglary vary based on individual state laws.
Third-degree burglary, known as burglary in the third degree, is the act of breaking into or unlawfully entering a building or automobile with the intent to steal something. In burglary in the third degree, the actual act of stealing does not take place because the individual is caught prior to stea
It is possible for burglary charges to be dropped if the defendant and his lawyer present a request to the court and the court agrees. The court's decision takes a variety of mitigating factors into consideration.
As of 2014 in California, first-degree burglary occurs at residences and second-degree burglary happens at commercial establishments where people do not live, according to Shouse California Law Group. Penalties for first-degree burglary are more than those of second-degree burglary, although laws ch
According to the criminal defense team of Silverman, Thompson, Slutkin and White, fourth degree burglary is the act of being inside a house or building of another without permission. This also includes entering a person's yard without his permission with the intent to steal from his yard or the atta
Completed burglary, forcible entry, unlawful entry without force and attempted forcible entry are the four types of burglary. By definition, burglary is the illegal attempt or forceful entry of a residence.
Aggravated burglary is entering someone's house to steal something with the intent to commit another crime or while using or carrying a weapon. Not all states make a distinction between burglary and aggravated burglary. Some states allow for more serious punishment for burglaries committed with aggr
Information needed to report a burglary includes the location of the crime, the name and address of the property owner, and the time frame in which the crime occurred. Documentation or photographs of any signs of forced entry or property damage associated with the burglary should also be included.
The minimum sentence for a burglary conviction depends on the circumstances of the case and the state in which the sentence is issued. Sentences range from probation to 20 years or more in prison. A burglary conviction may also attract fines ranging from less than $1,000 to more than $100,000, accor