Minimum Wage Laws in the States. Use the legend on the left to highlight different MW categories, and click on any state to learn about applicable minimum wage laws.
A number of states have adopted the federal minimum wage rate as their state minimum wage rate. However, many states require employers to pay a higher minimum wage rate. Whenever employers are subject to both state and federal minimum wage laws, the law that provides the higher wage rate for employees applies.
The year of 2017 has been an eventful one for business orders across the United States with the many state minimum wage changes passing during the past year. Raising wages, along with increasing paid sick leave and other employee benefits , changes the whole structure of how a business functions.
2017 Minimum Wage Rates by State. Under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), the current federal minimum wage rate for nonexempt employees is $7.25 per hour.A number of states have adopted the federal minimum wage rate as their state minimum wage rate.
The state minimum wage rate requirements, or lack thereof, are generally controlled by legislative activities within the individual states. Federal minimum wage law supersedes state minimum wage laws where the federal minimum wage is greater than the state minimum wage. In those states where the […]
In states that do not set a minimum wage rate, or have an antiquated minimum wage rate that is less than the rate set by the Federal government, the Federal minimum wage rate will take precedence and apply to all employees within that state. The table below lists the current prevailing 2019 minimum wage rates for every state in the United States.
D.C.'s new wage of $10.50 an hour makes it the first jurisdiction to cross the $10 threshold among the states. Maryland's minimum wage rose to $8.25 on July 1. Delaware also passed an increase in 2014, which took effect June 1, 2015, increasing the state's minimum wage to $8.25 an hour. 2014 Highlights
The chart below indicates the history of both Federal, and State minimum wage rate changes up to the upcoming rate changes in 2019. Minimum wage rates most often change based on the CPI (Consumer Price Index). Employers are required to abide by minimum wage laws as determined by the State & Federal Laws.
Although there are some exceptions, almost all employees in California must be paid the minimum wage as required by state law. Effective January 1, 2017, the minimum wage for all industries will be increased yearly. From January 1, 2017, to January 1, 2022, the minimum wage will increase for employers employing 26 or more employees.
Milpitas enacted its own minimum wage in 2017 by city council ordinance. The minimum wage applies to adult and minor employees who work two or more hours per week. $13.50: $12.00 to $13.50, effective 7-1-2018: $15.00, effective 7-1-2019 / Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2020: Milpitas enacted its own minimum wage in 2017 by city council ordinance.