New York has three degrees of burglary: first degree, second degree, and third degree. The possible sentences for a first degree burglary conviction range from one to 25 years. Second degree burglary is subject to a one to 15 year sentence, and judges can set any third degree burglary sentence up to seven years.
Burglary with explosives is punishable by three, five, or seven years in prison. Burglary in the first degree is punishable by two, four, or six years in prison. Colorado: First degree burglary and home invasion burglary are class 3 felonies, punishable by a state prison sentence of four to 12 years and a fine of $3,000 to $750,000.
In all states, burglary charges are classified as felonies. Fourth degree burglary is the exception, as it is classed as a misdemeanor. 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th Degree Burglary. With first degree burglary, someone has entered the home of another person with the aim to commit violence and/or theft.
(b) A person commits the offense of burglary in the first degree when, without authority and with the intent to commit a felony or theft therein, he or she enters or remains within an occupied, unoccupied, or vacant dwelling house of another or any building, vehicle, railroad car, watercraft, aircraft, or other such structure designed for use ...
(B) Burglary in the first degree is a felony punishable by life imprisonment. For purposes of this section, "life" means until death. The court, in its discretion, may sentence the defendant to a term of not less than fifteen years.
Penalties for first-degree burglary. California first-degree (residential) burglary is always a felony. The potential consequences include a state prison sentence of two (2), four (4) or six (6) years. 4. Penalties for second-degree burglary. Second-degree (commercial) burglary is what is known as a wobbler in California law. This means that it ...
First degree burglary occurs when you enter a dwelling (home) with the intent to commit a felony or theft inside. Second degree burglary is the same, but instead of a dwelling, the location is a business or commercial establishment. If convicted of first degree burglary, you are looking at a range of penalty from 1 to 20 years.
Burglary in the First Degree, New York Penal Law 140.30, is the most serious and significant degree of Burglary offenses handled by criminal defense attorneys from the boroughs of NYC to the suburban counties, cities and towns of the Hudson Valley. A class “B” violent felony that comes with a substantial risk of state prison and other serious ramifications upon arrest and conviction ...
(1) A person commits the crime of burglary in the first degree if the person violates ORS 164.215 (Burglary in the second degree) and the building is a dwelling, or if in effecting entry or while in a building or in immediate flight therefrom the person: (a) Is armed with a burglary tool or theft device as defined in ORS 164.235 (Possession of a burglary tool or theft device) or a deadly weapon;
Subdivision 1. Burglary in the first degree. Whoever enters a building without consent and with intent to commit a crime, or enters a building without consent and commits a crime while in the building, either directly or as an accomplice, commits burglary in the first degree and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 20 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $35,000, or ...