Q:

In what year did Facebook come out?

A:

Quick Answer

Facebook first launched on February 4, 2004 and was known as "The Facebook." It became Facebook.com in August, 2005. The site originally could only be used by Harvard University students, but was expanded to other schools and in September 2006 to anyone in the world with an email address.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Facebook was created by Mark Zuckerberg while he was a psychology student at Harvard University, along with students Chris Hughes, Andrew McCollum, Eduardo Saverin and Dustin Moskovitz. As of 2014, Zuckerberg is the chairman and CEO of the company, which is headquartered in Menlo Park, California. Facebook was part of a legal case in 2004 when the founders of ConnectU accused Zuckerberg of copying their code and ideas. The case was dismissed in 2007 on a technicality.

Learn more about Social Media

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What does "idle" mean on Facebook?

    A:

    Being idle on Facebook is the same concept as on other instant messaging clients, such as Skype, AOL and MSN. When a user has not been active on a particular platform, meaning that he has not clicked around the program or messaged anyone, it means that he is idle.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How do you block someone on Facebook?

    A:

    To block someone on Facebook, sign into Facebook, click the lock icon at the top of the page, and then select "How Do I Stop Someone From Bothering Me?" Enter the name of the person you wish to block, click Block, and then confirm the block request.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are disadvantages of Facebook?

    A:

    The disadvantages of Facebook include addiction, malware, viruses, identity theft, reduced productivity, antisocial behavior and relationship issues. Facebook is potentially addictive for many of its users, and extended use reduces productivity. Using Facebook also leaves a personal computer vulnerable to viruses and malware attacks. This social media platform can create tension in relationships as a result of users connecting with people from previous relationships.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What happens when you block someone on Facebook?

    A:

    After blocking a person on Facebook, neither party is able to view the other person's past or future postings, nor send correspondences to one another via chat or private message. Facebook profiles are no longer visible to or searchable by those who are blocked.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore