Q:

What does "SMH" mean on Facebook?

A:

Quick Answer

"SMH" is an acronym that means "shaking my head" or "shake my head." It can also mean "scratching my head" or "scratch my head."

Continue Reading

Full Answer

"SMH" is used when texting and when communicating on Facebook or in chats and forums online when the user finds something so unbelievably ridiculous, disappointing or outlandish that he can only shake or scratch his head. Those who like to sprinkle their communications with profanity use the variations "SMFH" or "SMMFH." Other variations make it more clear why the user is shaking his head; SMHID means "shaking my head in disbelief," and "SMHL" means "shaking my head laughing."

Learn more about Social Media

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What does "SMH" stand for in texting?

    A:

    In texting and other forms of Internet-related shorthand, "SMH" means "shaking my head." This is usually expressed as a form of disbelief or disappointment. "SMH" and related initialisms are especially useful in social media, where character restraints are more likely to stifle the expression of a user.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What does "bump" mean on Facebook?

    A:

    "Bump" is a response on Facebook and other threaded sites intended to bring the post back to the top of the list. Some claim that it is an acronym of "bring up my post," but this explanation was probably invented after the practice of bumping became popular.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Is it possible to tell if someone has searched for you on Facebook?

    A:

    According to Fast Company, it is not possible for Facebook users to see if other users have searched for them. Apps or programs that claim to show who is searching for who are not accurate. Although Facebook does keep data on user searches, this information stays private, and Facebook users are only able to see who they have searched for themselves.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How do you delete your Facebook?

    A:

    To permanently delete a Facebook account, log in to the account, go to the Help Center, locate the information about how to delete an account and follow the instructions. As of 2014, Facebook provides different options for deleting, deactivating or memorializing an account.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore