Screenshots can be taken on Snapchat the same as they are taken while using any other application on your smartphone. When using Android, simultaneously press the power and volume down buttons. When using an iPhone, hold down the power button and then press the home button.
Snapchat is an application, available for Android and iOS, that allows users to send pictures or short videos, called "snaps," to their friends. Videos can only be played once and are then deleted. When sending a photo, the sender selects a length of time for the photo to be visible, between three and 10 seconds. After this, the photos are irretrievable, unless the user has added it to his "story," which is then available for 24 hours. Before someone sends a photo or video, there is an option to save it to his own smartphone.
Screenshots can be taken at any time, but will not save an entire video. When a screenshot is taken, the snap's sender is notified, and the username of the individual who took the screenshot is listed. After screenshots are taken, they are stored to the smartphone's gallery. When they are stored here, they remain there until the smartphone's owner deletes them, and cannot be accessed by the original sender of the snap.