How do you remove personal information online?


Quick Answer

Remove online personal information by deactivating accounts on social media websites, sending a request to Google to remove personal pages from Google searches, and taking down email addresses. Various companies can handle this process for you.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Deactivating your social media accounts also deletes any personal information you've shared on the platforms. To deactivate a Facebook account, click the inverted arrow icon on the top right, select Settings, and navigate to the Security tab. Click Deactivate Your Account, and confirm your identity by entering your password. Although deactivating your account removes your personal information from the website, the account still exists, and it reactivates if you log into Facebook. To permanently delete your account, open Facebook.com/help/delete_account while logged into your account, and type your password.

If you need to remove personal information due to legal reasons, ask Google to stop finding your information in searches. Initiate the process by opening the Content Removal form, and choose a Google service from the list. State the reason for your request, click Continue and follow the instructions.

Deleting your email address, especially if it consists of your name, may help you remove your personal information from the Internet. The process is different for each email service provider. If using Gmail, navigate to the Account Preferences section, and click Delete Your Account Or Services. Select Delete Products, type your password, and click Delete. Follow the instructions, and then click Remove Gmail.

Alternatively, you can use the services of companies such as Abine to have it remove your personal information for you. As of January 2016, Abine offers a one-year program for about $130 that continuously removes your public profiles, contact information and photos from the Internet.

Learn more about Internet & Networking

Related Questions