Permanently deleted emails are not able to be retrieved. The only emails that are retrievable are those that have been moved to the deleted folder for a pre-designated time period set forth by the email account provider.
To safeguard against losing valuable professional or personal emails, people can opt to "soft delete" or "archive" emails instead of permanently deleting them. For example, when people no longer feel that they need specific emails any longer, they press "delete" once to move it into the trash folder. This action leaves the email available for a pre-designated period usually consisting of 30 days. During this time, the person can retrieve the email to re-read.