Q:

How does one remove Windows 8.1?

A:

Quick Answer

Windows 8.1 can only be removed if it was installed from Windows 8 Pro, and the process requires using the refresh feature. The refresh feature resets the current condition of a system without losing any of the downloaded data on a hard drive, which also allows the Windows 8.1 update to be deleted in the process.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

The Windows 8.1 update was originally meant to be a permanent upgrade by deleting the older Windows 8 operating software partition. However, the Pro edition makes use of a special feature, known as refresh, which acts as a system restore. Refresh differs as it only targets the operating software, while a restore targets the entire disk drive. The following instructions are only for Pro users and explain how to use refresh to reset Windows 8.1 into Windows 8.

  1. Open the settings tab
  2. Open the Charms menu and navigate through Settings to find the Refresh section.

  3. Choose the Refresh option
  4. There are several listed options under Refresh; choose the option that allows all of the previous older files to remain.

  5. Start the refresh process
  6. Follow the prompt and begin the refresh process. The length of time it takes to complete depends on the number of files on the computer. After the refresh cycle completes, the computer restarts and takes the user back to the log-in menu.

    Learn more about Software

Related Questions

PEOPLE SEARCH FOR

Explore