Q:

How is a Macbook Pro reset?

A:

Quick Answer

To reset a MacBook Pro, use Disk Utility to erase the disk and then reinstall the operating system using OS X Recovery. Before beginning a factory reset, be sure to copy all important files and software to a separate disk.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

  1. Connect to the Internet

    Using a wireless or wired connection, join your MacBook Pro to an authorized available network. Recovery OS X needs an Internet connection to download the correct version of the operating system.

  2. Restart the computer in Recovery Mode

    Locate the Apple menu on the upper left-hand side of the screen. Click on that menu, and select Restart. While the computer is restarting, hold down the Command and R keys to enter Recovery Mode. Continue holding down the two keys until you hear the startup chime.

  3. Open the Disk Utility tool

    In the Mac OS X Utilities screen, select the Disk Utility option, and click continue. The Disk Utility will open. You should see a list of disks on the left-hand side of the window.

  4. Erase your primary disk

    Select the primary disk for your MacBook Pro from the list of disks on the left sidebar of Disk Utility. Locate and click the Erase tab. Choose Mac OS Extended (Journaled) for the format and type in a name for the disk. Remember the name you enter so you can be sure the new operating system is installing on the same disk.

  5. Exit Disk Utility

    Locate the Disk Utility menu in the upper left-hand portion of your screen. Click on the menu and select Quit Disk Utility to exit the Disk Utility program.

  6. Reinstall the operating system

    From the Mac OS X Utilities screen, select the second option Reinstall Mac OS X, and click continue. This opens the installation screens and guide you through a series of instructions. These instructions differ slightly based on the version of operating system. In general, they include confirming the OS, accepting the terms and license agreements and identifying the installation disk location. The final step is to click Install. Recovery OS X downloads and installs the appropriate operating system software. Once complete, the system restarts, and the factory reset is complete.

Learn more about Computer Help

Related Questions

Explore