Q:

How do you view deleted browsing history?

A:

Quick Answer

You can view deleted browsing history using a recovery software or Domain Name System, or DNS, cache. Otherwise, Google History is the fast and easy way to see deleted browsing history if you have a Google Account and were logged in while browsing.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

With a recovery software such as Recuva, you can recover deleted browsing history. Find out the location of the deleted files, and scan that directory with your recovery software. Each browser has its specific directory; for example, "C:\Users\(username)\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default\local storage" for Chome. The "(username)" is the name of your account. If you use Internet Explorer, the directory is "C:\Users\(username)\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\History". Once the scanner runs through the directory, you can choose to recover all for viewing.

The operating system DNS cache stores your searches whether they are deleted or not. However, the DNS cache deletes your browsing history each time you restart your computer. Therefore, you can use the cache to view all the domain names that you accessed and deleted from the last time you restarted your computer. In a Window OS, open Command Prompt, type "ipconfig /displaydns", and hit Enter. You then can view a list of websites that you visited recently, including the ones you deleted from the browser. However, you won't see the specific pages.

Google History stores all browsing history, including history deleted from the browser. If you have a Google Account and were logged in while browsing, you can go use Google History. Go to Google History, log in with your account, and you can view all history sorted by time.

Learn more about Internet & Networking
Sources:

Related Questions

Explore