iPhone owners can delete applications on their device by going to its home screen and holding down on the application they wish to delete until a small cross appears by it. Users can then proceed to tap this cross and confirm with the phone's system that the application is deleted from the device. Alternatively, iPhone users can also delete an application on their device by using the iTunes program on their Mac computer.
Applications that are synced regularly through iTunes with an iPhone also need to be deleted on the program's library. Users can navigate to their iTunes library and choose to delete the application by right-clicking on its icon and selecting the delete option from the dropdown menu that appears.
Users can download applications that are already deleted from both the iTunes application library and an iPhone at any time by going to the app's page on the iTunes App Store. The App Store remembers purchases made by any registered Apple user and allows the user to download the program again without charge. As of 2015, it is not possible to delete an application from a user's Apple ID permanently and it continues to appear if any updates are released for it.