How do you deactivate your Facebook profile?


Quick Answer

To deactivate your Facebook account, go to the account menu option located on the top-right of your profile page. Once you click on the account menu option, select Settings from the menu, then Security, and then choose Deactivate Your Account.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

  1. Click on the account menu option

    The account menu option is located at the top right of your Facebook profile as well as any other Facebook page.

  2. Select Settings from the menu

    Locate the Settings option and click it. This takes you to the settings page on Facebook.

  3. Click Security from the left column

    The Security option is part of the column of options to the left of your screen. Locate the option, and click on it.

  4. Locate and click the Deactivate Your Account option

    The Deactivate Your Account option is located at the bottom of the Security page. Click the option, and follow the steps to confirm your deactivation.

  5. Understand your account options

    Once you have deactivated your Facebook account, your profile and information is no longer available to other members and no longer shows up in searches. If you wish to reactivate your account at a later time, you can do so by logging into your account using your original email address and password.

Learn more about Social Media

Related Questions