Montana, Virginia and Texas are some states that sanction concealed weapons as of 2015, according to USA Carry. Some of these states issue concealed gun permits for residents only, while others issue these permits to both residents and non-residents.Continue Reading
Montana residency, U.S. citizenship and an age of at least 18 years old are prerequisites for getting a Montana concealed permit. Montana law allows non-residents to carry concealed weapons, as long they have permits. Concealed weapons are not permitted in bars, banks or government buildings. The law does not allow any weapons, concealed or otherwise, in school buildings. Non-residents must pass a criminal records background check and have both the permit and photo identification on hand when carrying the weapon.
Virginia issues concealed permits to residents and non-residents. The Virginia General Assembly changed the law in 2004 to allow non-residents to apply for permits within the state. The permit is valid for five years upon approval. Virginia requires the applicant to be at least 21 years old and to have demonstrated competence using a handgun.
The Texas Department of Public Safety provides concealed permits for individuals. This department evaluates the eligibility of applicants by checking their criminal histories. The department also monitors those already owning permits to ensure continued eligibility.Learn more about Outdoor Adventure