Q:

What are the skydiving age requirements?

A:

Quick Answer

Most skydiving centers require divers to be at least 18 years of age, the legal age of consent in their respective state. According to the experts at Skydiving Magazine, the government does not set an age requirement for parachuting enthusiasts.

Continue Reading
What are the skydiving age requirements?
Credit: Oliver Furrer Photographer's Choice Getty Images

Full Answer

Some centers allow minors of at least 16 years of age to participate if they possess a notarized letter of consent from a parent or guardian. While there is no upper age limit, individuals with certain medical conditions and those 70 years of age or older are discouraged from taking jumps until after they have consulted a certified skydiving expert.

Learn more about Outdoor Adventure

Related Questions

  • Q:

    Where can you find indoor skydiving in Houston?

    A:

    Thrill-seekers in Houston, Texas, can skydive at one of two iFly locations at either the Woodlands or Memorial locations. Both facilities opened in 2015. The Woodlands iFly is at Robinson Road and Woodlands Parkway in Oak Ridge North, and the Memorial iFly is on Interstate 10 between Bunker and Blaylock.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is iFLY Indoor Skydiving?

    A:

    iFLY Indoor Skydiving is an indoor skydiving simulation that has locations throughout the United States. Indoor skydiving can be used to practice and develop skills necessary for outdoor skydiving. Indoor skydiving facilities can also be used for the sport.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are the dangers of skydiving?

    A:

    While skydiving results in relatively few deaths each year, those deaths are generally the result of human error and judgment. The United States Parachuting Association estimates there are 3 million jumps per year. In 2012 there were 19 deaths related to skydiving, according to the association. The numbers point to a 0.0007-percent chance of dying during a skydive versus a 0.0167-percent chance of dying in a car accident.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are some laws regarding the adoption of children in Michigan?

    A:

    Under Michigan adoption laws, anyone can be adopted, but children who are 14 years of age or older cannot be adopted unless they are able to give their own consent, according to Find Law. State law also provides that prospective adoptive parents have 21 days to challenge a denial.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore