A key Minnesota boating law states that a license is required for nonmotorized watercraft over 10 feet long and all motorized watercraft, according to the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources. Exceptions to the law include watercraft registered in another state or country that are kept in Minnesota for less than 90 consecutive days.Continue Reading
Children under the age of 10 years old are required to wear life jackets when riding in boats, explains the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources. Exceptions include children below deck or inside enclosed cabins, children on board vessels operated by licensed captains, and children on board anchored boats for swimming or diving.
Each person must have access to a wearable life jacket when on board a boat, kayak, canoe or stand-up paddleboard, advises the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources. Except for canoes and kayaks, one Type IV throwable is required for boats 16 feet and longer.
When two watercraft approach each other head-on, each operator must veer to the right to avoid a collision, advises the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources. When two watercraft approach each other at a right angle, right-of-way is given to the craft on the right. In all situations except passing and overtaking, nonmotorized watercraft have the right-of-way.Learn more about Water Sports & Activities