Replacements, Ltd. sells both active and discontinued Waterford crystal products. Customers can purchase products at replacements.com or by calling Replacements' toll-free number. Replacements, Ltd. has been selling Waterford Crystal since 1990 and carries over 540 unique patterns. As of 2015, the company offers free standard ground shipping in the United States for orders over $99.
In 1783, George and William Penrose opened the Flint Glass Works in Waterford, Ireland, marketing their Waterford crystal to the aristocracy of Ireland and England. In 1851 the factory closed due to increased taxes on the import and export of crystal.
In 1950 two Irishmen, Joseph McGrath and Joseph Griffin, decided to revive the Waterford crystal tradition. They hired 30 skilled craftsmen, who were World War II refugees, to train Irish workers in the skills of glass blowing and cutting. The new glass factory opened in 1951, exactly 100 years to the day that the original Flint Glass Works was closed. Waterford now has more than 3,000 employees, and still has an apprenticeship program to train an all-Irish workforce.
Bob Page founded Replacements, Ltd. in 1981, after having collected china and crystal for a decade while working as an auditor for the state of North Carolina. The company is the world's largest supplier of old and new china, crystal, silver and collectibles, working out of a 500,000-square foot facility.