Q:

How do you unblock communications with someone on Xbox Live?

A:

Quick Answer

Unblocking a person on Xbox Live is accomplished using the “People I’ve Blocked” section of the Friends app. Users must find the person they want to unblock on their list of blocked users, and then select the “unblock” tab near the person's name.

Continue Reading
How do you unblock communications with someone on Xbox Live?
Credit: Futurilla CC-BY 2.0

Full Answer

Sometimes, users accidentally block people who they mistake for someone else. Immediately after unblocking a person, users can communicate like normal. Any gamertag on Xbox Live can be blocked, and users do not need to have the person on their Friend’s list. However, if the blocked person was on the user’s list, the person should reappear.

If a user comes across a gamertag they do not like, they can visit the “recent players” section of their profile to block the person. If the user feels the blocked person violated the Xbox Live code of conduct, they can report the gamertag to Microsoft.

It is impossible for a gamer to communicate with the person who blocked them. If the person attempts to communicate with the user, an error message appears. Blocked users are not notified that a user has blocked them unless they attempt communication. This allows the user to block and unblock other players at their convenience.

Learn more about Gaming Consoles

Related Questions

Explore