The Hi-Lift Jack was originally invented in 1905 and was officially called the Automatic Combination Tool, but was usually called the Handyman Jack or Sheepherder’s Jack. Many years later the jack was given its current name.
The current Hi-Lift Jack is described on the company website as being useful in all circumstances that require pulling, pushing, clamping or lifting. Claimed to be a very useful and rugged tool, the Hi-Lift Jack has a rated capacity of 4660 pounds with a tested capacity of 7000 pounds.
Hi-Lift Jacks are made with a unique two-piece design, utilizing a handle and socket. The jack weighs 30 pounds and the safety bolt shears at 7000 pounds to prevent accidents. Boasting a 28-square-inch base, the jack has a steel bar with 80,000-pound minimum tensile strength. The steel handle is made of 14-gauge structural tubing and the climbing pins are made of processed steel having 125,000 PSI tensile strength. Every Hi-Lift Jack comes with adjustable clamps for clamping and winching.
The Hi-Lift Jack Company is owned by Bloomfield Manufacturing Company, which was established in 1895. The company was founded by Philip John Harrah, who was the inventor of the original lift jack. Mr. Harrah’s family still owns and operates the company, as of November 2015.