Q:

Does white rice have gluten?

A:

Quick Answer

White rice on its own is always considered gluten-free, whether it is long-grained, short-grained or glutinous rice. However, gluten is often used as a thickener in prepared rice mixes.

Continue Reading
Does white rice have gluten?
Credit: Mario CC-BY 2.0

Full Answer

When using anything other than plain white rice, consumers should check the label to verify that the rice product is gluten-free. Additionally, people who have celiac disease or extreme gluten sensitivity should purchase white rice that is not processed on equipment that also processes gluten-containing products, such as flour and other grains, to avoid cross-contamination. Certified gluten-free labeling on a package of rice confirms that the rice is processed in a way that prevents cross-contamination.

Learn more about Nutritional Content

Related Questions

Explore