Q:

Does whey have gluten?

A:

Quick Answer

There is no gluten in 100 percent whey. However, peptide-bound glutamine that comes from wheat protein may contain whey, and it should not be consumed by those who are sensitive to gluten or who have celiac disease, as stated by the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

WebMD notes that whey is the watery part of milk that separates from curds during the cheese-making process. It is sometimes used for people who are lactose intolerant, and it is also useful for replacing infant formulas that are milk-based. Moreover, whey protein is sometimes used for people with allergies to protein or diseases like asthma or late-stage cancer.

Learn more about Nutrition & Diets

Related Questions

Explore