What Is Wheat Intolerance?


Quick Answer

The Mayo Clinic explains that wheat intolerance is an allergic reaction to foods and drinking beverages that contain wheat ingredients. Individuals who suffer from wheat intolerance may also have allergic reactions from simply inhaling wheat flour. Wheat allergies are among the most common food allergies in the United States.

Continue Reading
What Is Wheat Intolerance?
Credit: Christian Schnettelker CC-BY 2.0

Full Answer

Changing one’s way of eating may be necessary in order to avoid wheat entirely. According to WebMD, some foods that contain wheat protein include bran, bread crumbs, couscous, wheat, wheat flour and gluten. It’s important to also check the ingredients of baking goods and mixes, cereals, soups and snacks, because often these products may also contain wheat.

Learn more about Allergies
Related Videos

Related Questions